Treasuring God, Yourself and Others

All of life is a journey.

We live in both time and space.

Our journey takes place in time and through space.

We journey in time from conception and birth to our death and then to the next life.

We journey from day to day, year to year, and generation to generation.

We journey in place from one location to another.

We have the freedom to choose the direction of our journeying and to influence the journey of others.

Living epiphany is about the learnings and discoveries we make during our journey.

We discover our three fundamental gifts, the gifts of being, doing, and relating.

We encounter others and witness their presence, their actions, and interactions.

The Gospel of Matthew tells the journey of the magi to behold, honor, and do homage to a newborn King.

We don’t know the number, age, gender, or nationality of these magi, other than they came from the East and discovered a star at its rising.

The rising star signaled the birth of a king, and for whatever reason, they were drawn to pay a visit and give gifts.

The magi undertook a treasuring journey.

They left their homeland, traversed unknown territory, following the star, until they reached their destination: a recently born child and his parents.

The Gospel account describes the magi’s arrival and the three valuable gifts they gave to the parents for the child: gold, frankincense, and myrrh.

There is a great deal of symbolism in this account.

Its meaning has been a source of debate, interpretation, and discussion by Scripture scholars for centuries.

The key words in this account are the discovery, the journey, and giving and receiving gifts.

I think that this process is a metaphor: life is a treasuring journey.

We discover ourselves when we discover others.

We journey in understanding to find wisdom.

We give of our valuable gifts and receive from the priceless gifts of others.

To find the direction of the journey and keep us on course, we need a star to follow.

Or a compass.

The compass that we use of navigating our travel from one location to another is based on the four directions of space.

East. West. North. South.

The compass that we use to navigate our actions and interactions with others is based on love.

The LOVE Compass.

Listen. Observe. Value. Express.

When we use the LOVE Compass to show admiration, encouragement, and appreciation to others – to pay them homage – we make life a treasuring journey.

Read more about the LOVE Compass