pink heart with word art of the attributes of love

St. Paul’s Attributes of Love

Perhaps the most famous essay on what love is – and what love is not – comes from the 13th Chapter of St. Paul’s First Letter to the Corinthians in the New Testament of the Bible.

This chapter is read at weddings and anniversaries.

The words are emblazoned on inspirational plaques and wall décor.

This series will focus on a selected part of that chapter, verses 4-8 and verse 13, the last verse in Chapter 13.

There are two “Love is …” attributes, five “Love is not …” attributes, three “Love does not…” sentences and four “Love does …” attributes (bears, believes, hopes, endures), and the finality verse, “Love Does Not Fail.”

The following posts contain a Word Art heart and a reflection on each of the attributes of Love.

Click on the links below to read the reflections:

Love is Patient

Love is Kind

Love is Not Jealous

Love is Not Pompous

Love is Not Inflated

Love is Not Rude

Love Does Not Seek Its Own Interests

Love is Not Quick Tempered

Love Does Not Brood Over Injury

Love Does Not Rejoice over Wrong Doing, But Rejoices with the Truth

Love Bears All Things

Love Believes All Things

Love Hopes All Things

Love Endures All Things

Love Never Fails

May you always experience the fullness of God’s love for you, your family and friends.